Let the sound of His praise be heard

Praise our God, all peoples, let the sound of his praise be heard; he has preserved our lives and kept our feet from slipping.  – Psalm 66:8-9

I’ve been a musician for a long time.  Even from my earliest memories there was always music in my life; a new instrument to learn, a new song to sing.  I was enthralled with music and jumped at any opportunity I had to participate.  It was a fun hobby! I had no idea at the time that it was a priceless gift I had been given.

Most of my musical growth revolved around the church.  They were always needing a soloist, or an offertory special so I was happy to jump in and fill the need.  When I was 16 I suddenly found myself in the youth praise band every week.  I literally knew 3 chords on the guitar and I definitely felt out of my element for a while until my skill finally caught up with my ambition.  And by ambition I mean I could finally get through a song without stopping 10 times. I think most of us in the modern worship crowd all have a similar background.

However, the more I learned and grew in worship music, the more I started to feel the pressure that comes along with church music.  More specifically “leading worship”.  I started to realize that everyone had an opinion on how I was doing.  Some people liked my voice, some didn’t.  Some loved the song selection, others didn’t.  I never realized how eager others were to let you know what they thought about your “performance”.

Over time, I allowed this pressure to paralyze me.  I couldn’t make everyone happy; no matter the style or song or arrangement there was always someone in the congregation that didn’t approve.  I’m sad to say I laid my guitar down and didn’t pick it up for the next 4 years.  It was just too much. I had every intention of never leading worship again.  It was a symbol of my stress and I wanted to be rid of it.

What am I doing now? I have a masters in Worship Leadership, I’m married to a worship pastor and I serve weekly in the worship ministry at our church.  Unexpected right?  It was a long journey, that took many, many, many years of healing and submission to God, but in the end I realized I had been given the gift of music and I wasn’t using it.  I had let others define the worth of my gift instead of using it to glorify the One who had given it to me in the first place.

What gifts have you been given? Are you using them to their fullest potential? Are you discouraged or afraid of what others might think? The enemy’s greatest desire is that we would bury our gifts and live in fear. But be encouraged today…..we serve a great God who has given us great gifts for his great purposes.  Step out today and use them! Whatever your gifts are they were given with great intention to show our love to God and point others to Him.

Let the sound of His praise be heard…….

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

