Pearls of Great Price

ImageOn my 20th birthday, my parents gave me a set of real pearl stud earrings, pea-sized with beautiful gold posts.  I had been asking for some real pearls because my fashion standards were demanding them.  The little cheapy studs from Target weren’t going to be acceptable.  So, they bought them for me.  They were definitely NOT cheap. 

It has only been recently that I’ve realized how much these tiny pearls mean to me.  You see, a lot has changed since my 20th birthday.  My parents are dealing with a lot these days.  Separated by health issues, mental disease, confusion, distance and pain. 

Did you know that pearls are the product of great irritation and pain?  A pearl starts out as an unwanted piece of sand that gets caught inside an oyster, buried somewhere in a deep body of water.  Over time, to protect itself, the oyster covers the sand grain with a protective coating called nacre.  This covering process takes years, but eventually you replace that tiny piece of sand with a beautiful pearl.  Like my earrings.

I don’t know will happen with my parents.  All I know is those pearls are special.  They represent a gift that was given by two people who have their own grains of sand to work on now.  When I see my pearls I remember that good things, REAL things, take time. 

 

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Wow. This was really good and I needed to hear it. I love you 🙂

    Brooke

    Reply
  2. What a great reminder! I hope things turn around with the situations your parents are facing.

    Reply
  1. Pearls of Great Price « THINK TANK

Leave a Reply

