We’ve got it backwards

Image

Seriously.  We’ve got it all backwards.  Let me explain…..

I’ve lived my whole life thinking things were a certain way.  We all do.  We see things through our own two eyes, with our own spin on the world, our own personal opinions pressed up against situations and events we experience.

 

Then somewhere along the way, at least in my case, a new idea was introduced into my mind.  The idea that I am not the center of the universe, or the focal point of everything that takes place in this world.  The idea of Christ was introduced into my reality.  I accepted Him and believed.  This is where things get turned upside down.

We are trained to be practical.  Rational.  Scientific.  Conclusive.  Individualistic.  Self-sufficient.  Our work places are based on these pillars, and they are the indicators of success….according to our culture.  This is the reality we live in.

But what about the reality I am commanded to live in?  The Bible says I should be self-less.  Patient.  Understanding.  Loving to people who are my enemies.  Full of joy.  Without worry or anxiety.  To believe that God can radically change and heal a situation beyond all practical indicators or rational solutions. 

It’s confusing though. The things I read in the Bible feel like instructions to a board game that got mixed up and put in the wrong box….with the wrong game.  The promises and truths in the Bible don’t match the situations in the game I’m playing……..or so it seems.

The truth is…..we have all been brainwashed by SIN to believe that the world we live in is the REAL world.  The REAL game.  It’s not.  It didn’t start out that way.  Something altered the game.

Matt Chandler puts it this way in his book The Explicit Gospel.  He says,

“The miracles of Jesus are the signs of the right order of things.  Jesus was not so much turning things upside down as turning them rightside up or, at least, giving his followers glimpses of the rightside up.  The miracles of healing, deliverance, provision, and resurrection all reveal that God, through Jesus, is making all things new, that he is restoring what once was unbroken.”

 

This is why everything feels backwards!  Because IT IS.  God’s Word matches the world he created in the beginning, before the fall.  And when we follow His guidelines, we are helping to bring the kingdom here, in this fallen place we’re all in for the time being. 

This helps me not feel crazy.  And it reminds me to stop being surprised when bad things happen.  God knows what he’s doing, so I just need to trust Him and do the things He asked me to do, even if they feel contrary to this present reality. 

Things are backwards.  God has a plan.  Redemption is in transit.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Rachel

     /  June 8, 2012

    Well said!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

